Our Beagle World Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am extremely new to owning a dog and I've heard many people say that BARF diets are really goood for dogs but I am curious if Moji is too young. She is three months today...is that too young?

·
Banned
4,444 Posts
No, 3 months is not too young for a BARF diet. However, I would suggest a gradual change over to this way of feeding. Many people here in Germany swear by it, but I havent actually tried it. It would be a good idea to buy a book on the subject. Type in BARF on internet and you will find a lot of information on this subject. Never feed raw pork to your dog!!!!

·
Banned
5,083 Posts
Never having heard about the barf diet I looked it up and it seems pretty interesting had some good points.

I'm just having a hard time with the acronym and associating it with dog...dog barf /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek.gif

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
The key is in finding fresh raw food. I don't think I could find a fresh raw chicken in Nevada unless I raised it myself! There great advantages to even a partial BARF diet in that if you gave your dog say 1/4 of a raw chicken a week, gnawing up the bones would keep the doggies teeth clean. My problem is that the longer chicken or any other meat product sits, the need to cook it increases. Read up before commiting to such a diet. Canines in the wild have evolved on such a diet but then, the meat they eat is fresh /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Quote:Originally posted by BeagleBabe:
I thought chicken bones were bad for dogs?
Bones are only bad if and only if they have been cooked. Cooked chicken bones are the worst as they splinter very easily but all cooked bones can splinter. Raw chicken bones (any raw bone) is completely digestable. Chewing up the bones cleans the plaque and other not so-good stuff off their teeth and gums and is far better than and cheaper than any other doggie dental hygiene.