Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,715 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just a note to let everyone know that my baby seems to be holding her own, thank heavens.
She's been on Feldene for the TCC since Monday, and seems perky and happy, almost like her old self. We're still struggling to get that Urinary Tract Infection cleared up, and that is concerning because she still has a lot of blood in her urine.
She now has quite a drug cocktail to take: Trilostane for her Cushings disease twice daily, antibiotic for her UTI twice daily and Feldene for her cancer once daily! Plus now I have to add Pepcid because the Feldene seems to be bothering her tummy some. Of the 3 meds, the one causing the most problem is the antibiotic. It is huge, and she is very resistant to taking it. For some reason, Miss Shiloh has suddenly decided that she doesn't like Mighty Dog anymore--that is what I've been hiding her Trilostane in for 4 years.
Now she only will take her meds if I hide them in canned cat food!! But that doesn't even work very well with the antibiotic. She just spits it out!! Pill pockets don't work, hiding it in cheese or bread (her 2 favorites) doesn't work. I've had to resort a couple of times to giving it to her by hand the way the vets do--which seem to work much better for the vets than for me!!

The vet says that since she seems to be responding so well--to the cancer med anyway--he sees no reason why I can't take her to Alabama as planned. (I think I mentioned that hubby and I have a little snowbird house and this will be our first trip.) So we're continuing with our plans to leave on Monday to drive down. This will be Shiloh's longest car trip by far, and we will probably have to take a lot of potty breaks for her. So we probably won't get down there till sometime Wednesday. I don't have a computer setup down there yet, but will be in touch as soon as I can to let y'all know how things are going. Please keep us all in your thoughts.