Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm so glad there are so many beagle lovers out there. I've wanted one for the longest time and finally got one last week. I'm still learning to navigate this site so please excuse me for any mistakes.

This past week has been quite an experience for me. My pup is only 9 weeks old and I find he likes to wander and chew on things a lot which I know is normal behavior, especially for a beagle. I've read many books on training and beagles in general but putting all of that into real use is hard.

My biggest problem is that he whines and howls all the time when nobody is home. We've taken time off work to spend time with him but I'm afraid we'll have to leave him alone for an extended amount of time now. Can anyone suggest any ways to help my Choco get over his separation anxiety? I've tried wrapping a ticking clock in his bed and worn clothes that smell like us. It kills me to leave him alone but we've got to get out there and make a living. Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
You should work with Choco on Crate Training. There are many useful links and information online. Here is one that I like:
Crate Training

Welcome!! by the way

You should introduce yourself and Choco (with pictures of course) on the introduction forum.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Do it most of the time we go out and leave Maisie.

Try leaving the TV or a Radio on at low volume, just seems to break the silence maybe keeps there mind occupied.

I have seen crate training being mentioned on here i am assuming that is the same as using a cage.

·
Premium Member
2,646 Posts