Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Lou is a two year old Beagle that was born on a puppy mill and somehow got to an Amish farm where he lived on a 6 ft chain 24/7 for many months - I don't know exactly how long but it was at least 5. I know they never took him off the chain, he'd never been in a house, was never played with, etc. Although I have no knowledge of his having been abused physically, he certainly was neglected.

The trainer I am working with (has 57 years of training dogs!) says that sometimes when you rescue a dog it's a good idea to change its name so that IF he was yelled at or punished a lot, he might associate his name with negative experiences.

Now, I know the first question you would ask: does he show signs of having been abused or even just fear with his name? The answer is no, he doesn't but then I don't yell at him either.

I am a first time Beagle owner, not that this issue applies to Beagles only but I would be interested in your thoughts. It took a while but I did get used to calling him Lou - I didn't like it at first - but then my sister suggested Jack and I think that's such a cute name and he looks like a Jack..

I'm just so unsure of what to do. Have any of you done this? Do you think it's important for a rescue dog? And the big question: which name do you like better - Lou or Jack?

Thanks,

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2,646 Posts
He is a sweet looking dog. I am sorry I don't have any advice on the name change, however I do volunteer for a rescue and often we don't know the dog's correct name because it was stray and was named at the shelter. they do seem to learn the new name.

·
Registered
295 Posts
I like Jack better too. You can certainly change it -- they really do learn their new name quickly. To speed things up, call him to you using Jack, and give him a treat. Beagles love their treats

·
Banned
32,140 Posts