Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Denise, was the kong to help ease Baxter's Separation Anxiety? I'm not too sure, but I don't think there's a quick fix for that. I think consistent positive reinforcement, training, exercise, and a schedule will help Baxter in the long run. I've been working on Java for the past 9 months and he's just starting to show some improvements in the recent month.

·
Premium Member
3,715 Posts
Denise, I'm not sure what you were using the Kong for, if it was for some specific training, or just a fun toy. But I wanted to tell you that Kong didn't work for Shiloh and me either!! I felt like a dummy; here was everyone else singing the praises of the Kong, and my Shiloh wasn't interested at all! I would load it with treats, throw it, she would sniff at it, but never was very interested in trying to get the food out. Not that treats aren't a big motivator for her, usually, but the Kong just wasn't her idea of a fun time. So please don't be discouraged--they just don't work for everybody.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Monty isn't to fond of the Kong either. He had really bad seperation anxiety when he was younger too. He hated being in his crate and would cry till the neighbors complained. I felt like a terrible mommy! But, i stuck to it, bribing him to go in his crate. sometimes when i was home, i would crawl in his crate with him and just read while he napped. it took awhile, but he got used to being in there. Have you tried feeding him in there, so he knows it's HIS space? blankets or a t-shirt with your scent? Leaving music or a tv on for him?

Hope some of these suggestions help. Try not to get discouraged, it takes time. It took Monty a few months to be comfortable with being home alone. The music does help, i think.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I am sorry for the attitude earlier.. I actually came back to delete the post above, but i cant now.