Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone...

i have a 15 week old beagle pup named abby and a 9 1/2 week old pup named stella and they keep fighting like crazy...im pretty new at the whole puppy raising thing so im a bit concerned...should i be?

thnx

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
Sounds like normal puppy behavior to me. My dogs, who are 10 weeks apart in age and approaching 2 years old, still fight and wrestle like puppies. As long as there are no injuries and you never feel like they're really going to hurt each other, I say it's a good way to get two exhausted puppies who will sleep through the night.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
Duke and Violet are both nearing 2 years old and they fight like crazy all the time. It's play fighting and never has a single drop of blood been shed. It's how they play and puppies especially like to play that way.

The best way to calm ours down is to wear them out! I walk them, play fetch with them, and provide enough exercise that they're nice and tired.

·
Registered
114 Posts
When I first brang JoJo home and watched her play with my other puppy Jesie I totally freaked out! I rang my mother in law in tears.

Jesie was 8 months old when we got JoJo and I had never heard Jesie growl. The first time Jesie and JoJo played together JoJo kept growling. I was so upset as I thought I had picked a nasty puppy.

My mother in law came over to see for herself (she has 30 years experience raising/training puppies) and told me that they were playing and there was nothing to worry about. Both dogs were wagging there tails like mad. I soon realised it was all play and stopped freaking out.

I had never had my own dogs until we got the girls, we'd always had family dogs so Mum had done all the training and stuff. It was defiantely an eye opener! I'd also never had two dogs at the one time before!

·
Registered
107 Posts