Our Beagle World Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have asked before if you guys think a beagle would make a good psychiatric service dog for me. However, I think I got some responses that misunderstood? My beagle would not be a therapy dog, but my psychiatric service dog. This dog would need to be able to listen 100% of the time, and be trained in specific tasks to help me get through my day. I would need to take this dog to some public places such as lectures in university.

With this information, would a beagle fit my needs for a psychiatric service dog? I know that every dog is different, however I need a dog that will more than likely fit these needs. I considered beagles because of how much I love the breed, and what loving and affectionate dogs they are.

Thanks so much for the help, and I hope to hear something soon!

·
Registered
4,970 Posts
I am by no means an expert on service dogs. When I think service dog, however, I think German Shepherd Dog, Labrador, Golden Retriever or a mix of those breeds. Like you said, "Every dog is different." I'm not saying you couldn't find a beagle that could meet your needs as a service dog. A beagle is not necessarily the first breed that comes to mind.

Breeds are bred for a specific purpose and they do what they do well. Beagles are excellent trackers and good hunting dogs. Their noses make them excellent for use in airports. They are smart and can be trained to do anything. They have excellent problem solving skills. I find them often to be independent thinkers, which may not be an asset in a service dog.