Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm at work now, my girlfriend is at home watching our precious little girl, so, I figured I would give an update. Something like a new puppy journal. So, if anyone is interested....here we go..

We picked her up yesterday, at about 5 pm. She laid in my lap the whole drive home, which lasted about an hour and a half. This is my first time raising a puppy or any kind of dog for that matter so, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

When we got home we took her outside to go potty, she held it in the car the whole time! We took her around for a tour of the new apartment... She just stood there and shivered. Whenever I sat her down she just crawled right back into my lap, probably because she felt safe there from the car ride home. We figured she must be starving so we gave her some food and water... She didn't drink anything, there has got to be a HUGE difference between city water and the well water that the breeder gave her, so I'm not sure how to get her to drink.

She has not piddled inside yet. Which is GREAT!! She is very good about going outside but she just rolls around and tries to chew on her new leash and doesn't even think about pooping. But, as soon as we come inside, she starts to do her poop dance and drops one on the carpet. I cut her off, mid squat, and take her outside, and she plays and rolls around and shews her leash.

I thought getting her to go to sleep last night was going to be a pain, but at about midnight, she just crashed right in her crate and slept though the night.

I can't say the same for myself. I woke up every hour just to make sure that she was OK. We woke up this morning at 6 to take her outside and she did her 1's and 2's. What a good girl.

She isn't much of a player... I'm sure this will wear off, but, for now she just lays her head on her toys. There is one toy, we call it her Wubbie, a stuffed duck that she just loves.