Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone else's beagle take FOREVER to go to the bathroom outside? As soon as we get up in the morning Miss Molly goes right outside, and she will walk around sniffing for an hour sometimes, and NOT go. I mean, I KNOW there has to be something in there. One day I took her out right before we had to go to the store. She wouldn't go, so I crated her and we were gone about an hour and when we came back she had peed in her crate. Whenever she goes outside she gets treats and lots of praise and she has a peepee word I use everytime she goes...any thoughts?

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
How old is Molly? Keep on with the praises and the treats... she will get the point eventually.
It took me sometime with Chloe as well... It is frustrating :angry: - I agree!!

·
Registered
48 Posts
Hmmm, that can be frustrating. My first beagle is only 5 months so I'm by NO means an expert...but here's what we've found useful.

1. Try a designated "potty" spot. Boomer has taken a strong liking for a street light pole near our driveway. Nearly 9 times out of 10, he'll pee there.

2. Try treats. Our breeder told us not to, but we did anyway and it got him going outside pretty quick and now he doesn't even want a treat for going potty outside. We also did the "Excited happy dance" when he would go outside and I still praise him for doing so.

Hang in there - hopefully potty training will only get easier.

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
Duke was almost 3 months old when we got him and he had never pottied outside, so it was a very difficult time in getting him adapted. Finally, I decided I was staying out with him until he went no matter how long it took. About 2 hours later, I won that battle.

Now he's much faster about it and in the mornings or when I first get home, he goes quickly, but there are still times we're outside for 20 mintues before he does his business. He gets easily distracted!

·