Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone I am new to the forum. My name is Garrett.. I'm a student at Texas A&M and I live with my 2 friends Carroll and Adam. My roommate Carroll got a beagle (his name is Elvis) in december and we have been having trouble with him peeing on the carpet within the last month.

He's 4 months old and every time Elvis seems bored or doesn't get attention he pees on the carpet. Specifically when we are all watching TV or playing video games and not giving Elvis attention he will pee in front of the entertainment center. We don't think it's marking because he doesn't do it when at least 1 person is giving him attention or he's playing with his toys. It seems like every time we all get occupied and he doesn't know what to do with himself he will pee in front of the TV.

Carroll will yell at him and put him outside when he pees but it doesn't seem to be helping at all.. especially because Elvis LOVES being outdoors and I don't really think it's much of a punishment for him. What can we do to make him stop peeing like this?

TIA for the help and nice to meet all of you!

·
Banned
5,083 Posts
WELCOME TO BW! Glad to have ya! /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif

If he's been doing it all along, then he hasn't been housebroken properly. You all weren't training him on puppy pads or newspapers in the house were you?

You need to take the time to train him that inside is not where he goes to the bathroom. If you catch him doing it give a sharp NO. Retraining him is going to take constant supervision while he's in the house, determination, consistency and time.