Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,458 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received Maggie's AKC papers in the mail today, and if I'm reading the family tree right, her mother and father have the same father. Meaning her maternal and paternal grandfather's are one in the same. Which would make her mother and father half brother and sister, right?

As the line continues, I also see that her maternal and paternal grandparent's also came from the same mother and father.

Is this normal breeding practice? I'm worried about genetic defects (hip dysplasia, etc.) that may not become apparent until she's older.

If this is not normal breeding practice, who should I contact to prevent this from continuing?

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
It doesn't sound right to me, but I am not an expert.
I would contact the AKC to check with them about breeding approvals for that pedigree.

So far Lil' Maggie is okay, right?

·
Registered
85 Posts
I'd check, too. Most good breeders work hard to keep their lines genetically diverse.

·
Registered
1,097 Posts