Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be going tonight to pick up my new little beagle girl. I already posted a question regarding how to introduce a new pet. The owners were supposed to bring her to me, but now I have to go get her.
So now that the original meeting plan has changed,
should I bring along my 2 boys or should I leave them at home and do the intro at home like planned?

·
Registered
68 Posts
I'm no expert but I would think maybe it would be better for the boys to meet her at the house. It's a much more controlled environment. I'm sure they're gonna be excited and she's gonna be scared. The car might not be the best place for them to meet her. I guess it would also depend on how old your boys are. That's just my opinion. I'm sure you'll get plenty of posts in the next couple hours from much more experienced dog owners. I'm still a rookie beagle owner. The people on here are great and I can't tell you how much they helped me.

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
I actually think the opposite, Ryan.

I think that meeting on neutral grounds is better, so that there is no territory issue. Also, before entering the house, walking around the block with all 3 and walking into the house as if it's the most natural thing in the world, would help make things smoother.

I'm not sure how old the new addition is, but usually the younger they are, the easier it will probably be.

Good luck, and we're waiting for pictures!

·
Registered
1,440 Posts
First of all, good luck - can't wait to see pictures!