Our Beagle World Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie (to dogs and the board) with questions….

Sorry to just jump in like this, but we unexpectedly rescued a purebred beagle on Thursday from the pound and I have a few questions to run by those of you who have spent lots of time with them. Also, this is my first dog, I’ve only ever had cats, so I’m pretty in the dark on all fronts.

First, let me say that we LOVE our new addition to the family. She’s the single most sweet-natured animal I’ve ever met. My hubby and I have been taking a crash-course in Beagle-ometry the past few days, so we are learning the basics. Plus, she seems to be crate-trained already and loves to hang out in her crate when she’s not with the family. That’s a good sign! She's not great on the potty issue, though, so we've got our hands full with that right now.

She’s between 2 and 3, has most likely had several litters, and is scheduled to be spayed on March 14. We’ve run all the tests that we can to ensure her health, and all is good except for testing very faintly positive for heartworm. Our vet said that she’s not showing any signs of failure yet and we are committed to treating her.

My questions—at least the imminent ones—are as follows:

1) Millie (short for Millicent von Beagle) adores my husband and gets very upset when he leaves in the morning. My son and I try to give her extra attention and distract her, but her anxiety over him leaving just breaks my heart. I make sure to tell her that he’ll be back, and when he comes home he goes right to her to assure her that he has indeed returned. But will she ever come to understand that he’s not leaving her for good? Or will she suffer this forever? We believe that she was abandoned at our family business by owners who felt that she no longer served a breeding or hunting purpose. Which probably only adds to her separation anxiety.