Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if changing the name of a beagle after 1 year would be a bad idea. I'm not sure if it would confuse the poor baby.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Hmmm, well I am not an expert, but If it was close sounding to the name I would say ok.
With our Bassett her name was gypsy, and we used to call her dippy (as in dippy dog..lol)And she always came.
But i think completely changing yeah that might be confusing!

·
Premium Member
1,667 Posts
I think they'll pick up on a name change pretty quickly, especially if you use treats and give them one if they respond to the new name.

·
Registered
959 Posts
Casie's owner called him VAN for 13 months. I didn't like that name so we are changing it, obviously to Casie. What we were advised was to say Van/Casie, Van/Casie....and then after about two weeks, just Casie It's not the name that they understand it's the tone of our voices. Rather sad that, but I tend to believe they know what their names are and after a year, go for it.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Originally Posted By: DaisysMomI think they'll pick up on a name change pretty quickly, especially if you use treats and give them one if they respond to the new name.
We changed Dudleys name from Freddie when we got himand he answers to it fine.He was also a year old.

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Kali was previously called Lucy. The vet that we got her from suggested that if the dog is changing enviroments (especially if its from bad to good enviroment), then you should change the name.

Kali knows commands from her previous life. The name change really hasn't changed much.

·
Registered
1,440 Posts