Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, Beagle World! This is my first time to post after much browsing through the site. First of all, you can call me Marion. I am from New Mexico and the proud Mommy of Cooper, a beagle I adopted from a beagle lab.

I'd like to seek advice regarding these recent observations. It started about three days ago. Every morning, around 7am, I take Cooper out to walk and potty. Lately, I noticed that he would often (not always, but most of the time) lick the ground while sniffing around for his potty spot. At first, I let him be, but when he started choking and semi-puking a foamy substance that is light gray, I started reprimanding him whenever he starts licking the ground again, thinking that he's consuming the asphalt from the streets and little bits of cement from the sidewalks.

He wouldn't stop, though!!! Even if he'd choke and puke each time! What should I do?!

He also seems distracted all the time outside! We would usually take a whole 45 minutes to an hour outside because of his curiosity, and it's really difficult because we live in the mountains and staying outside too long isn't very pleasant due to the bitter cold.

I wish Cooper could do his business at a secure place such as a backyard, but I live in an apartment and really have to walk him outside for potty. :-(

My second observation also started happening a few days ago. After his walk and potty each morning, I give him breakfast. Usually, he'd gobble everything down in seconds. But just a few days ago, I noticed that he wouldn't even finish his breakfast! He would leave half of it, and come back for it in the afternoon. Is this normal?

Well, that was a mouthful. I hope you guys could give me your two cents' worth. This is my first time to take care of a beagle, and they are indeed quite unique little creatures. :)

~Marion

·
Registered
229 Posts