Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
667 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I figure Ill be here every day for the next month dealing with the new pup...this is my first time having a puppy and Ron's second time even having a dog (Snoops was his first!!)

Snoopy will not let the puppy play with his own toys..I give them equal toys, but Snoopy will growl then fight the pup. This happend a few times in the last 24 hours. I tried to say "Snoopy this is yours, Marbles this is yours" but Snoops puts his to the side and goes after Marble's toy..even if it is the SAME one...and then Snoops doesnt play with it...but the puppy needs to play.

I know Snoopy has been THE DOG of the house for the past 2 years, but how do I get a dog to share.

And we are showering Snoopy with love too..he walks out first, walks in first, gets fed first, treats first...we are trying to love him to death but I dont think Snoops really likes the pup at all /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif

Amanda

·
Registered
614 Posts
Don't know, but from other friends who had this problem, he gave that dog tough love and it seems to work. they now live peacefully and happy!

·
Premium Member
1,827 Posts
Quote:Originally posted by madison069:
Don't know, but from other friends who had this problem, he gave that dog tough love and it seems to work. they now live peacefully and happy!
Tough love er Madison069? What like shock collars? or e collars or beating the crap out the dog, all training should be done with love patience and praise. Please be careful what you are advocating!!!

Ref training, perhaps you can reward snoopies good behaviour with a treat ands correct him when he is snarly or nasty to the puppy with a "Nicely", perhaps have puppy or snoops on a short house lead so you have the control and snoops will be in range to instantly put straight.