Our Beagle World Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm brand new to Beagle World and am so glad to have found a place to ask questions and find answers. Jack is my first beagle, 5 months old and just precious. He's so different in personality from my past dogs; doesn't like to cuddle, doesn't really want to be on my lap. But I know he likes having me around because we play outdoors together and he loves it. I'm just adjusting to having a dog that isn't all that interested in me. Now that I understand that's just how a beagle is, I feel so much better. I thought maybe he thought I was the bad guy and he didn't like me because I correct him, train him and crate him at bedtime. Potty training was a breeze but the chewing is a challenge. He has lots and lots of toys for chewing but always prefers what he's not supposed to have. How do they know that? He knows "sit" and "down" and we're about to start working on "drop it". Any suggestions on additional training?

Also, I'm in the Midwest so we have definite season changes. How do beagles feel about cold, rain and snow?

·
Registered
6,049 Posts
Welcome..hope you post a picture soon of that chewer...lol. beagles are somewhat independent especially when young. My dog will sit with me but not necessarily "cuddle".. dont think its you..its just their personality but they do love you. If you can get into a good obedience class i highly recommend it. My dog went to a sheriff k9 obedience class. Get a Clicker at the petstore...its a great cheap training tool.. watch YouTube videos on how to use one for training. Im a big believer. Youre just going to have to chew-proof your place and watch the mischief...lol
Ive had my dog from 8 weeks and shes now 8.9 years.
Cassie says Hi

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5