Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I am new to this wonderful forum and a relatively new Beagle Mum. Our baby Penny is an absolute delight, she is 6 months old now and just got spayed 3 days ago - who would know, she is bounding around as usual. We have been thinking seriously about getting another Beagle Baby as a companion for Penny. I notice that many of you have more than one Beagle, I'd love to know how that works for you - the pros and cons.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
From my experience, 2 are better than 1. Why? Got me, it just is. However, I suspect that because Beagles are bread to hunt in packs, they are just more comfortable with other Beagles or other dogs.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
Also, I forgot to say welcome to the forum, we are glad to have you. Pardon my manners.

·
Registered
889 Posts
Welcome!
We got our two beagles from a shelter at the same time so I'm not sure what having one beagle is like. lol But we love having two. They keep each other company and play together. Well, when Rocky isn't being grumpy anyway. LOL! I don't feel as bad leaving them while I'm at work because I know they're not alone. I will say if you're by yourself it can be more difficult to train them, so you may want to work on training your first one first, or getting someone to help you. I don't find really doing anything else with them a problem. Even when my hubby doesn't want to go for a walk or isn't home, I don't really have any trouble walking them by myself.

All in all I think if you have the option to have two, it's a wonderful thing!!
Just a side-note... they're a bit addicting. The hubby and I have been talking about getting a third one. LOL Oh, and they will find ways to get into mischief together.

·
Registered
287 Posts