Our Beagle World Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took Arty to the dog park today. This was the second time I have been with him. I have had him for almost a year now, and i totally love him. For as long as I have had him, I have never seen him hump anything.

Well, today at the dog park, he would NOT stop mounting a BOY dog. It was the same dog (even though there were like ten other dogs running around). We were there for almost an hour and every few minutes Arty would try to mount that dog again, even after I pulled him off and told him "no" firmly. I was so embarrassed! I mean, everyone was laughing but still.

Since Arty is a rescue dog, I dont know much about his history. I know he does not really know how to play with other dogs (except today he did a little better than his first time, not counting the humping). Arty is also my first dog, so I am quite new at this.

Do you guys know if this behavior is normal? He has been neutered since he was a puppy because certain "parts" are not mature. Now I am kind of embarrassed to take him back to the dog park, but I really want to because he had such a good time. What should I do if he starts mounting another dog again? is there anything I can do to avoid this behavior?

·
Registered
1,097 Posts