Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!
I am new to the Beagle World.

We adopted a nine month old beagle boy 3 months ago. His name is Ben and he is a rascal! He is tri-colour (mainly black) and kind of small. Cute as can be though!

We are finding adjusting to life with a dog to be rewarding and stressful all at once.

Please tell me the chewing subsides after a while! Please?

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Welcome to the BW pack!

RULE #1: If you don't want it chewed, don't leave it where the beagle can get it.

RULE #2: try and find something the beagle likes to chew better than (INSERT ITEM HERE, such as shoes, rugs, coffee tables, etc.).

It does end, but obedience traning helps.

·
Banned
4,444 Posts
Welcome to beagle world. Puppies chew, so keep safe anything you value. Also anything that can be dangerous to your pup, like electricity cables. They do destroy less later, but at this playful stage be prepared for an active pup. One day you will look back on the puppy days with nostalgia. Mind you the 'pup' might be 10 years old. :rolleye11:

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Welcome to Beagle World. :wave: My best advice about not having things chewed is to keep them out of Ben's reach. Sometimes that's easier said than done. /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Welcome to you and Ben! Looking forward to seeing pics of your rascal. I adopted an adult beagle so can't help you with chewing ...

·
Registered
124 Posts
I wish I could help but my first dog was a pup in 96, and beau was with a babysitter from 9 to 5 for the first six months we had him. Then he was pretty good. The only advice I can give is to play with him alot!

From what my granny says he was the devil in disguise as a pup.

·
Registered
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks everyone.