Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I just wanted to say hello. I just saved a 3 year old Beagle from being euthanized.
My wife was talking with someone, "not a friend", and she was telling her that she had a 3 year old pure Beagle, that she was gonna have "put down", the next day, due to not having time to care for him? "People amaze me"!!
Well, needless to say, he is now at my house, and being cared for. I got him lastnight as soon as I found out.
He is housebroke, but knows nothing else. He apparently was living in his crate for 3 years, and only let out to the bathroom.
He seems to be in his glory now, with my 4 kids, and a yard to have fun in.
Now time to train him...Hope he trains, but I am sure he will. I have no Beagle experience, but have trained other dogs...
Nice board here....Thanks for allowing me to be part of it!

·
Registered
1,440 Posts
Welcome to BeagleWorld and the world of beagles too. You did a wonderful thing rescuing this guy. Does he have a name? We have three rescue beagles and many others here also have many other rescues, so I'm sure as a group we have probably seen anything and everything you come across with your new arrival and are more than willing to help out!

His story is tragic but what is really sad is that he is just one of so many - so many needy dogs out there who are mistreated in one way or another. One does wonder why someone like his old owner even bothered to have a dog in the first place... and how much less time could she possibly have for him than she did anyway?! He must feel like he has died and gone to heaven to suddenly have a family and life outside his crate!

Good luck. Oh, and we like pictures!

·
Premium Member
2,646 Posts
I don't understand people. So many think pets are disposable, but then I have had students whose parents act like they are disposable. Thank you for giving this lucky guy a home and a good life. Welcome to Beagle World.

·