Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone.
My name is Gizem.I'm 18 years old-will be 19 soon.I live in Istanbul-Turkey.I'm a student at university,studying public relations and it's my 3rd year.
I have 2 rottweilers,both female.One of them is 4 1/2 years old,other one is nearly 1 1/2 y.o
I live with my mom in an apartment with our rotties.I've been considering about adding a beagle to our pack for a while.I researched about them in Turkish and English sources but I believe that the best information is given by owners.

At the beginning I was worried about howling issue but then I found out that howling can be forbidden by training.Every source that I've read says that beagle should be more than 1 if it'll be alone for hours.As I've said I have 2 rotties so s/he won't be alone when we are at school or work.
I know beagles are energetic dogs since they're hounds.I take my rotties for daily walks for sure and I'm able to take beagle with us.And they play at home.My older one likes wrestling with other big dogs but with small or medium dogs she's very kind and since elder one is diagnosed with hip dysplasia she CAN'T wrestling,she prefers to chase.Yet I and/or mom can play fetch at home if s/he has more energy!
I'm totally open for your precious advices!In fact I'm here for hear them

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
I believe you're our first member from Turkey. I've had beagles or beagle mixes for more than 30 years. All of them lived with other dogs in our home and, for the most part got along well with the other dogs. I can honestly say that we've never had a problem with howling.

My personal experience has been that females are easier to train and more anxious to please. That varies from dog to dog and owner and owner, so I'd say follow your heart on that issue.

Please keep us updated.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks all