Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! Its my first time on this board and I have to say I am THRILLED to find a place for beagles. Everyone and everywhere I go for advice tells me 'beagles are so hard to train!' 'beagles are so stubborn!' So I guess I just need some general advice.

We got Griffin a couple weeks ago when he was 11 weeks old. He seems really smart, he learned No Jumping, Sit and No pretty quick, but he is not picking up on the potty training so well. I am home all day so he isnt alone. I take him out whenever I see him sniffing around, I take him out about every hour. I have pee pads down...but sometimes he just gets up and pees. I know I shouldnt expect him to be 'cured' by now but damn, Im getting frustrated, and Im sure he picks up on it.

Any key tips for getting my Griffin to stop messing up my carpet?

·
Registered
215 Posts
Hi to you and Griffin. I too am a new member - it IS great to have other Beagle Friends !!! Persevere with the potty training - it will pay off. Penny took a while, but now she is 100 percent. I had many midnight walks outside with Penny in the freezing cold, I made a sound that I only associated with potty training (like trickling water) and then praised her when she went - It worked!! Good luck and welcome.

·
Registered
1,969 Posts

Be patient and consisent with the housebreaking. Our first beagle, Roscoe, learned VERY quickly, however, our second beagle, Cole who is now a year old, still has occassional accidents but he is learning! We didn't get it b/c we were spoiled with Roscoe and Cole is super smart with learning everything else, but this is taking a very long time. We are seeing results so hang in there!

·
Registered
12 Posts
keep the treats handy when she is successful, give her one. beagles like their food. don't get discouraged. it does take time.

I won't volunteer anyone else, but I will lend you a shoulder to cry on and an ear to talk to.

·