Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, I'm new to the Forum. I got a handsome beagle pup in August, I'm new to the breed. I've had Dobermans/Rotty's/German Shephards, and my last dog was a Golden Retriever, so its both a new breed a new size for us! We're very excited though. Also i heard their really hard to house break and we are having some difficulty does anyone have any tips? I was told by a fellow beagle owner it took her nearly a year because their so stubborn.

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
to BW! My beagle, Maggie, was my first small dog but it was easy to adapt -- she was already house-trained when I adopted her 12 years ago so I won't be much help with the potty training. However, we have lots and lots of members who are going through this phase -- if you have some time, do a search in the discussion forum and you will find tons of suggestions. Please share your pup's name and we love pictures (there are posting instructions in the how to forum)!
P.S. Just saw Teddy's photo in the gallery -- he is so handsome!

·
Registered
847 Posts
Welcome and yes Beagles are quite different than most dogs.

As far as the potty training have a plan of attack from day one with goals. Bodie is 16 weeks now and hasn't had an accident in weeks. Last night was the first night he slept in our bedroom on his dog bed. Up until now he was in his crate overnight. It took us 3 nights to do it, but once he got comfortable he didn't make a peep all night.

My first advice to potty training is to cut off all food and water after dinner time. Followed by a few potty breaks before YOU go to bed. Put him in the crate. And within a short period of time he'll hold it all night.

·
Registered
889 Posts