Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone ever experienced this before? My Weimer/Aussie mix is 11 weeks old, and whenever I look into his eyes or can see his eyes when he is still, I notice that they are shaking. I can't explain it....you know how sometimes people freak you out by tellling you to look into their eyes, and then they can move them rapidly? His eyes do that...any thoughts? Ideas? Concerns? Thanks!

·
Registered
118 Posts
Wish I had some advice for you, but I haven't experienced anything like that. My first thought would be something neurological, but please keep in mind I'm still very new to animal parenting and pet health nuances.

Hopefully it's just a little quirk of his, but to be on the safe side, I'm thinking a quick call to your vet wouldn't be unwarranted.

If you find anything out, let us know!

·
Registered
1,969 Posts
Hmmm, don't have experience with that either.
I would definately call the vet.
Please keep us posted.

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This is what I found:

Congenital Nystagmus

Nystagmus is an involuntary movement of the eyes associated with vestibular or visual stimuli.
Is Nystagmus Always Abnormal?

No. Normal vestibular nystagmus occurs when you move your head in any direction. When the head is move in the horizontal plane to the right, the eyes will stay focused on an object in their visual field, and as the head moves out of that field, the eye will suddenly jerk in the direction of that movement. This is referred to as physiologic or vestibulo-ocular nystagmus. This type of nystagmus will also occur in a blind dog.4
Abnormal Nystagmus

Abnormal nystagmus is characterized by the presence of continual jerk nystagmus with the head motionless in any position. This is a spontaneous or resting nystagmus.4