Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just came back from the dog park. I'm not happy that this man with another beagle, he criticized my Charlie as legs longer and skinnier over all, and he wonder mine must be a mix and his is the better, or it may sounds that way to me. Talking about my baby. So I came home and measured Charlie, he falls into the catagory of a 15" beagle. I notice even his nose shape is longer? I'm not a expert. As for the skinny part, vet said he is perfectly fine. But should I feed him more. I feed him 2 cups a day 2x. He doesn't seem to be very hungry. Vet said do not over do it because it is very hard to slim a beagle.
/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/confused.gif

Charlie mom

G

·
Charlie mom, Charlie looks like a field beagle to me. There's two different lines, field and show. Show beagles tend to have rounder skulls, shorter snouts and stockier legs. If the guy at the park had a show beagle, he's probably used to thinking of his dog as having the normal beagle look. Follow your vet's advice about the food. If the guy was making fun of Charlie, he sounds like a jerk, who's too caught up in the breed standard.

·
Premium Member
3,092 Posts
I wonder if that dude is a member here and if he is or comes here if he is reading this thread. If he is perhaps in the future perhaps he might not be so pushy towards others fur kids.

Beagles are like people. It is very rare two look alike. That’s why they are "fur kids", just like people, very rare two look alike. /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif

·
Banned
32,140 Posts