Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have so many questions, I'm sure you've heard them all before too, but I am very new at this whole I have to go home to feed the dog thing.
Winston is always scratching at his neck. Lately I have noticed that the skin on his throat is kind of red. I am not 100 percent sure it's from his collar, but the last 24 hours he has only worn it to go outside. He doesn't seem to scratch as much but his skin is still kind of red. Could he be allergic to it? Or maybe a combination of the heat and the collar?
Also, he pulls hard, REAL HARD in the opposite direction alot when we go for walks. I so worried about him choking himself, if I am going to try a new collar anyway, I'd like some feedback on types and styles. I have heard so many mixed reviews on harness, collar, Martingale? etc. Most of these come from books or non-dog owners, so I want to hear it from someone who actually has used any of these.

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
What kind of collar are you using now? I have Chloe naked in the house and wearing a harness when we go out.

Some training will help teaching Winston walking nicely without pulling, but in any case, I think a harness is the safest for Beagles. They do tend to choke themselves and they are very very prone to back/spine problems so a harness takes a lot of the pressure off of their neck.

Many people also use martingales, but I like the harness the best (with training!!! for heel).

·
Registered
837 Posts
Personally, my dogs don't wear collars at all when they are at home - we only ever put a collar on for walks. I am very worried about collar safety, too, I know a fair few people whose dogs have accidentally choked themselves with their collars when home alone