Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all...

My female beagle (Emma) is pregnant (bevo is the father) and is expected to give birth on or around July 7th. I currently live in a 2 bedroom apartment with garage.

What is the best thing to do to prepare her for labor on the days leading up to July 7th? My first thoughts were to leave her in the garage with her kennel (kennel door open) and plenty of blankets in and around the kennel. I thought about using fans to help with the heat (it gets a little warm, but not too bad).

Would this be the best route to take? Also when the pups come, what is the best thing to do so that I dont have any of them die on me? I'm not planning on selling the pups but I would like to get them vaccines or whatever it is I need so that they dont die. I plan on giving the pups away to family and friends (who all claim to want one).

I'm new to this... (first time) so any information is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Here's a link to a pretty good article. Hopefully it's helpful.

http://www.thepetcenter.com/gen/whelping.html

My pups are all born here in my family room - or in my bedroom - if there's too much excitement in the family room. Moms don't like others around when they're giving birth.

I DO take very good care of my moms - and at the first sign of problems they get to the vet - but I have to warn you that even the best care can't prevent all problems and it's hard. JoJo's a excellent mother, but she had a hard time with her last litter - one pup was stillborn, 2 others were tiny and the largest, a male, she rolled over on and suffocated. The small male died the same night that the bigger male was suffocated. It broke my heart. The remaining little girl that lived had to be bottle fed and supplemented. This is not normal, but it happens, no matter how we prepare.