Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there!

I'm thinking of buying a beagle. My heart is set on this breed and one other - the Bichon. Are these two breeds good together? (one is quite lazy and the other active, one needs little grooming, the other a lot - seems to balance each other out)
Should i get them together? i read somewhere you weren't supposed to raise two pups together as they grew up best pals with each other instead of you!
Also - are beagles good with cats? should i get a kitten first, raise it for a year or so then add the dogs or the other way around?

Also - do beagles like the cold? i'm talking alpine temperature in the winter, ski resort temp. just incase he/she wanted to come on holiday with me!

thanks for your help. :wave:

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
I have no experience with the Bichon breed. But as far as raising two pups at the same time, people do it all the time. With Beagles it may actually be a benefit as they are prone to develop separation anexity(sp?). Having another pup around may help. But you will also need to be twice as patient and vigilant.

Beagles are hunters so they do love being outside. However, prolonged exposure to cold temps are not good for the Beags. They have a coat that will not sufficiently protect them. They have very little coat on the belly which is designed for moving through the woods while tracking and also helps helps with heat disapation which is no good in the snow or cold for long periods.

A Huskey or Malamute have coats that helps sutain life in the cold, Beagles do not.

Cats and Beagles can co-exist, several on this site do it. Just not my "cup of tea" so to speak.

Good luck /forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif

·
Registered
786 Posts
To answer your first question, yes beagles and bichons will get along. Our neighbor has a bichon who always comes over and plays with our girls and they are one month apart.