Our Beagle World Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all......My beag just turned 1 last week. I am relatively new to dog ownership and have a general question. I have had Buddy since he was 9 weeks old and he is just a great dog. I struggle with maintenance, especially clipping his nails and brushing his teeth. This maintenance starts out innocently enough then turns into a wrestling match especially with nail clipping. Do you all brush your beags teeth regularly and if so, how do you make this important process less stressful for pup and dad? I doubt there is hope for me with making nail time, less stressful...Any advice would be appreciated....

·
Premium Member
1,729 Posts
Welcome :wave:
Charlie is spoiled, I take him to the groomer, because I can not handle him myself!!
For $8 they do just the nails, I had him groomed for $20 some dollars, including nails, brushing teeth, anal express, ears clean and a nice bath. But I do not do it often enough. Lately I've been giving him raw chicken wings, cleans his gum and teeth.
Charlie is digger, so he does not need to have his nails clipped often, he claws them out digging in the yard.

·
Premium Member
2,098 Posts
If you're determined to change the stress level for you and your dog, then nail clipping and tooth brushing can be 'taught' like any other command...with patience, praise and consistent practice.
I had to attend obedience classes (had never trained a dog before; didn't know how)and learned how to be the 'alpha'.

However...... :biglaugh: paying the vet or groomer bill every so often, and reducing your stress level is a great alternative! It's quick,easy and stressless for you. There is nothing wrong with that!! :thumbup:

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Welcome to the BW pack!