Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Beagle paws-need help please

So my 3 yr old Harley has been limping here off/on the last week or so. Could never find any reason for it, figured maybe they twist their ankles too like we humans do, kept an eye on it. Well, yesterday apparently at some point in time part of his paw pad came off--the part that touches the ground. A chunk of it is missing and it is pink flesh type underneath. It isnt the whole pad (its the main middle one) so I can see why he is limping, but I wanted to know what I should do about it? I doubt the vet could do anything about it, I am guessing it is mainly a
treat the symptoms kind of deal.. but I am just curious if anyone has ever had this happen or heard of it... I am going to do some google searches too.

PS I am a nurse too-so stuff like this doesnt freak me out too much, I know what types of things docs/vets can treat.
THANKS A MILLION
Judi and Harley (who is REALLY limping now)

·
Banned
32,140 Posts
Re: Beagle paws-need help please

Poor Harley -- that sounds painful! I'm so used to calling my vet and leaving questions (he calls me back in the evening if not an emergency) that I think I would do the same in this instance. I would expect concern would be if there was any possibility of infection but also it may need to be wrapped to allow for healing.

·
Banned
32,140 Posts

I would take Harley to the vet. It sounds like he would need it bandaged and treated with anti-inflamatory cream or something. The paw is very prone to bacteria as it touches the ground, and you owuldn't want any going into the bloodstream.

·
Premium Member
1,667 Posts

I think I would probably take Daisy to the vet too if the same thing happened to her just to be safe. Like Eleanor and Judy said, it might need to be wrapped and treated.

·
Registered
120 Posts

I agree with previous posters, I would at least call the vet and ask if he needs to be seen.