Our Beagle World Forums banner

Beagle chews at night

772 views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  Redfishabluefish 
#1 ·
I have a blue tick beagle maybe around 3 years old (adopted as a stray in 9/2019). She is outside in a fenced in yard for hours a day at her request. She is crate trained and loves her crate. I have started letting her and my other dog be in my room at night. Went great for about 3 weeks. She has now started chewing holes in my comforter, chewing a swim suit she found, tried a shoe. How do I stop this behavior? She has an array of chew toys all day and in my room at night. Would a walk be different than free run of a backyard? I’m new to beagles. Thanks.

#2 ·
First of all it's great your dog loves the crate. I would go back to when things were working fine. Take the crate out of the bedroom and crate the dog at night. Wonder if the chewing on your things is some stress behavior . But I wouldnt let that continue or the dog is going to think its ok. My dog loves the crate too. It is funny how they do change behaviors.. my dog went from sleeping in the crate with the door closed to sleeping in a dog bed on my bed... now she's back to sleeping in the crate without needing to close the door. Give your dog blankets or towels to sleep with. My dog is 8.8yrs now so the mischief stage is passed. Have you taken your dog to an obedience class? The class is as much for you as the dog. A dog running around the yard all day doesn't teach anything. Talk to your dog a lot and work on commands. You might try some clicker training. Get a clicker at the petstore and watch YouTube videos on how to use one. Stay on the forum for advice from others. Hope you post pictures. Cassie says hi...

#3 ·