Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

I'm momma to two beaglebears, one of which I adopted from a university research facility that I volunteered at.

I'm also a writing student working on a project about... research beagles! And let me tell you, the world out there is pretty hush-hush about laboratory beagles. A lot of what I know comes from my experience with my former research girl, so if any of you live with research beagles, I would love to know a bit about your pup.

The kind of information that I'm interested in:
- where did your beagle come from? Specific research facility, intermediary rescue, commercial breeder (When I adopted Zowie I got her history, which told me where she was born)
- what was your beagle like at first? (Mine trusted no one and wouldn't go into a space smaller than a washroom for years)
- did it take a lot of work to socialize your pup to family and home life?
- did the research affect your pup in a long-term way? (Mine was used for anaesthesia workshops a few times and has breathing and barking trouble)

Lots of questions! I would appreciate it so much if you could take the time to answer, even briefly, and tell me a bit about your experience.

Thanks in advance!
Tamara

·
Registered
91 Posts
Don't have one but I would take one in a heartbeat!

Let me poke around my contacts in the states where beagles are sold to Class B dealers.

I read a book some years ago, I think the name 'Bea was in the title, it would about a precious beagle girl from a research lab ... anyone here remember the proper title so Zowie can grab it?

Best of luck, and please keep us posted about your preciouses.

·
Banned
4,444 Posts
Hi Tamara,