Our Beagle World Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy, I know its been a long time since i have posted anything and figured i would share with and discuss with you something that i have been noticing.

I work as a delivery man, and as such i get to talk to alot of people. I meet all sorts of characters through out my travels and many if not most of them are nice people.

On my travels i have encounterd a few people that own beagles. Most of them are wounderful friends to there beagles. Unfortunately i have met a few other dog owners, that do not treat there beagle/hunting hounds right. These guys keep there beagles/hunting hounds in a kennel all year long, only going in to clean up and feed them and vet checks. Only bringing the beagle/hunting hound out of its prison, is when there going hunting. I asked them, why he dosent spend more time his beagle/hound and treat him as a pet and family member, and they say that they make bad pets, or i get some variation of you never treat them like pets. Then they tell me that they have a house dog for pet duties. Usually one of the easy to train breads like shepards and labs and what not.

These are decent people i think, but this situation sickens me and it seems that, for every good hunter, that loves his beagle, and keeps them for pets the rest of the year, i keep running into more that treat there beagles/hunting hounds in the same horrid manner.

I intend to hunt my Newt(Newton is his long name lol, gonna get him a brother and name him Fig.) but hunting is only his part time job. He is first and foremost my buddy.