Hello I'm a newbie - Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums
Go Back   Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums > Beagle World > Introductions

OurBeagleWorld.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2013, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Hello I'm a newbie

Hello there I'm Helen and new to this site. I have a 7 month old beagle called duke and is very loveable but also a lot of hard work. I'm trying to get him house trained which is going not too bad I take him out regular and he does his business every time I take him in the garden I have got used to recognising the signs as he does not actually tell me when he wants to go. If I miss the signs I get an accident on the floor but I do not tell him off I just take him straight out. I would really like it if he could tell me though lol. We go to puppy classes and he is learning but I still have trouble walking him on the lead as he pulls and is so strong any advice would be greatfully received. I'm looking forward to meeting other beagle owners and hearing all your stories.

Helen x
Hellsvale is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2013, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)

Hi HV,
I have a new beagle, too, but he's an adult rescue. We are struggling with house breaking, too. Just like your dog, mine does not give any signals about needing to go out. I, too, have learned the signs. He almost peed in my car once. Another poster put bells by her door and rang them before every walk. Eventually, her dog began ringing the bell when he wanted a walk!

As for pulling, this should be addressed in your obedience class. I know this is not PC, but I find the best collar is a metal choke chain. My dog responds to gentle pressure from the choke, but not from a regular collar or harness.

Good luck and keep posting!

Jenny
jenhardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:16 PM   #3 (permalink)