Meet Dash - Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums
Go Back   Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums > Beagle World > Introductions

OurBeagleWorld.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Meet Dash

I'm new to the Bealge World forums. I'm glad I found them. I've done some interesting reading here. I'd like you to meet Dash. Dash is a 11 week old Male Beagle puppy. I've had him for almost three weeks. He's a great puppy and my kids love him. (Sometimes too much)

I have to admit I didn't do a lot of research before I decided to get a Beagle Puppy. Dash has a few behavior issues I want to get resolved and I'm not sure how to do it. Dash likes to mouth and gnaw and chew. I know thats normal for a puppy. He also has spurts of hyperness usually starting around 6PM. He bites and mouths constantly during that hyper time. We've been giving him chew toys and ice cubes. Sometimes this does help him. Lately, and mostly with me, he has become quite aggressive. He will latch on to my shoes or my pants and shake his head violently. He also growls very loudly when this is going on. I try to redirect his attention to toys or I tell him no. It seems like when I do this he becomes even more vicious and more aggressive. It kind of worries me about what kind of adult dog Dash is going to turn into.

I've been reading things about using noise Shakers, Spray Bottles, and also putting your thumb in his mouth under his tongue and holding his mouth for 10 seconds. The last options kind of worries me. It seems somewhat inhumane. I've got to get a grip on this and get his behavior under control. I feel like I'm a person without a plan. I've never had a puppy before so this is all new to me. I guess I didn't come into it with a good plan.