Possible anal gland issue - Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums
Go Back   Beagle Forum : Our Beagle World Forums > Beagle World > Health and Welfare

OurBeagleWorld.com is the premier Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2017, 09:52 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Possible anal gland issue

Natty Boh is having a 'butt' issue. He had shown no signs of discomfort - no licking, scooting, etc., until yesterday. Yesterday, he started to do both. Juli took him for a walk. On the way home, she saw something run down his leg. By the time he was in the house, what was running down his leg was blood. I cleaned it up and there was a sore next to his anus. I'm thinking anal gland abscess rupture. I have no experience with this.

I cleaned the area and applied prescription antibiotic ointment. (Leftover from Shelby.) It looks better today, than yesterday. He is eating and going to the bathroom. He has a vet appointment tomorrow morning.

Have you ever had anything similar with your dogs? How was it treated? I know, y'all aren't vets and can't see it, but do you think it sounds like the anal gland? No matter, if we are wrong. The vet will tell me tomorrow. lol!
Natty Boh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2017, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

I have had a few dogs with anal gland issues. I haven't seen any blood but it really does bother them. Of course scooting could rupture something. The smell is usually nasty. I hope Boh is okay.
Old 04-13-2017, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)

Do you ever have his glands expressed? I know it's time for cassie when she leaks a little...try to wipe the anal area with some witch hazel to cleanse the area and reduce any external soreness.
Cassie is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-2017, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)